Florida Society of American Foresters


The Florida Division recognizes outstanding contributions to forestry in Florida through presentation of the following awards:

Nominations for the Coulter, Spurr, Young Forester and Wood Utilization awards must be submitted to the SAF Awards Chairperson by February 28th. Nominations for the Hall of Fame must be submitted to the Hall of Fame Committee by June 1st.

You may download PDF versions of the nominating forms (requires Adobe Acrobat Reader) and either print blank forms or fill them out on screen before printing.


C. Huxley Coulter Award

The C. Huxley Coulter Award is presented to an individual for contributions to the profession of forestry. The recipient must have made a noteworthy or significant contribution to forestry in Florida, with no time restrictions. This could recognize an accumulation of contributions over a period of years, or a single significant achievement during the immediate past year. The recipient must be a graduate forester (any one degree) and a member of the Florida Division S.A.F. in good standing.

This award is named in honor of C. Huxley Coulter, State Forester from 1945 to 1969. He was the third State Forester for what was then the Florida Forest Service and is now the Florida Division of Forestry. Mr. Coulter is recognized as the primary architect of the Division's transition from a relatively small organization to a statewide, comprehensive agency to serve forestry.

Download Form

Stephen Spurr Award

The Stephen Spurr Award is presented to an individual for technical contributions to forestry in Florida. This award recognizes achievement(s) in technical areas that significantly impact the practice of forestry or forest resources. Outstanding accomplishments may be through research or the development of technical programs in physical, biological or social science aspects relating to forestry. Other accomplishments may be through technical staff work that resolves problems that affect the forestry profession.

Accomplishments most often will reflect cumulative achievements, be a single significant breakthrough or be an early career accomplishment not fully appreciated or recognized. Recipients of this award need not be professional foresters, however the achievement must be in a related profession which significantly impacts Florida forestry.

This award is named in honor of Dr. Stephen H. Spurr. Professor Spurr earned a B.S. degree in botany from the University of Florida, a Master of Forestry degree and a Ph.D. in forest ecology degree from Yale University. He taught at Harvard University and the University of Minnesota before becoming Dean, School of Natural Resources, University of Michigan and President, University of Texas at Austin. He is the author of Forest Inventory, Photogrammetry and Photo-Interpretation, Forest Ecology, a frequently used textbook, and American Forest Policy in Development.

Download Form

Young Forester of the Year Award

The Young Forester of the Year Award is presented annually to a young forester, residing in Florida, who demonstrates leadership in forestry and community. This award recognizes active participation and outstanding achievement in all aspects of SAF, forestry or natural resource related organizations, civic groups, church, special community projects and achievements in a professional forestry position.

The recipient of this award shall not have passed his/her 35th birthday by August 15th of the award year, and must be a Florida Division SAF member in good standing.

Download form

Wood Utilization Award

The Wood Utilization Award is presented to an individual, institution or company who has developed or perfected a unique use of wood or wood derivative.

Emphasis will be given to a process or technique that utilizes a heretofore wasted wood resource. The recipient, if an individual need not be a professional forester since wood is utilized in a multitude of disciplines from saw milling to chemistry. This improved utilization of wood or wood derivative should have made a significant contribution toward improving our standard of living.

The recipient should be Florida based. The process need not have been developed solely within the award year; however, it should have been developed within the recent past.

Download form

Past Award Recipients

Year C. Huxley Coulter Stephen Spurr Young Forester Wood Utilization Outstanding Graduating / Rising Senior
2012 Eric H. Hoyer Steven R. Miller * Randy Freeman Michele Goodfellow /
Elise Van Wie
2010 Walter "Butch" Mallett Jr. Dr. Edward F. Gilman Harper Hanway Dr. Lonnie O. Ingram Katie Termer
2009 Samuel Van Hook Stanton Rosenthal Melinda Moss * Mary McKenzie
2008 Gary Beauchamp Dr. P. K. Nair Kimberly Beebe BioResource Management Dana Baucom /
Mary McKenzie
2007 Michael C. Long Dr. Oghenekome U. Onokpise Brian K. Cobble Green Circle Bioenergy Devon McFall /
Dennis Pawlowski
2006 Dr. Edward Barnard Dr. Douglas Carter Christopher Demers * Melinda Napier /
Keith Cummings
2005 Charles Houder Dr. Eric Jokela Shaun Stewart Florida Plywoods, Inc. Tyler Dreaden
2004 Phil Gorniki Dr. Janaki Alavalapati Scott Sager M. A. Rigoni, Inc. Miranda Mae Funk
2003 John Holzaepfel Dr. Shibu Jose Ruth H. Cole * Terry Baker
2002 Dr. Wayne Smith Dr. Timothy White Carol Daughtery Agri-Products, Inc. Jennifer Barrett
2001 Jim Bryan Dr. Mary Duryea Doug Long * Nicole Hubbell
2000 Alan Long Dr. Don Rockwood * * Bryan Burch
1999 Paul F. Ebersbach Dr. Ronald L. Myers * * *
1998 John Bridges Tom Fox * * *
1997 David Lewis Jeff Vowell Mark Milligan * *
1996 Charles Maynard Dr. Robert Schmidt Brett States * *
1995 Bill Rogers Roger Webb * * *
1994 * * * * *
1993 Ray Mason Dr. William Pritchett * Don and Pat Post *
1992 Harold Mikell Dr. Edward Barnard * Robert Holton *
1991 * * * * *
1990 * * * * *
1989 Jerry Clutts Dr. George Blakeslee * * *
1988 Nancy Pywell Harm Kok * * *
1987 * * * * *
1986 * * * * *
1985 Jack Vogel Lewis Grosenbaugh * * *


Fellows are members of the SAF who have rendered outstanding service to forestry and the Society and demonstrated (1) a strong continuing commitment through direct SAF volunteer activities, and (2) exemplary action, sustained leadership, and advancement of the forestry profession at the local, regional, national or international level in at least one of the following areas (a) application of forestry, or (b) education, or (c) research, or (d) technology transfer.

Nomination Forms and information can be found here.

The following is a list of members who are known or thought to have attained the status of Fellow while or subsequent to being active in Florida:

1924 Austin Cary
1942 John C. Gifford
1950 Edwin A. Ziegler
1957 Huxley C. Coulter
1960 Lewis R. Grosenbaugh
1961 Henry J. Malsberger
1967 Donald D. Stevenson
1968 Earl L. Stone Jr.
1971 John W. Squires
1973 Kenneth B. Pomeroy
1979 John M. Bethea
1981 Victor J. Rudolph
1982 Ernst V. Brender
1983 George D. Carlisle
1983 Arnett C. Mace, Jr.
1984 Kenneth R. Swinford
1985 George R. Barker
1985 John T. Clark
1987 Robert S. Bond
1988 Thomas F. Quink
1988 David A. Marquis
1997 Raymond K. Mason
1997 Robert K. Morrison
2001 James E. Doescher
2004 Alan J. Long
2006 Wayne H. Smith
2007 Charles C. Maynard, CF
2007 Edward Barnard
2008 David Lewis, CF
2009 Charles H. Houder, III, CF
2011 Dr. Eric Jokela
2012 John T. "Jack" Vogel

This list was assembled using best available information. Please submit any corrections to Charlie Houder.

Send additions, corrections, or comments to: